Moon Rox


One of the first booth’s I came across at the One of a Kind show was ‘Moon Rox’.  The creator of Moon Rox, Monique definitely set the bar high for the rest of the booths at the show.  I was so impressed with her jewelry, and the way her product was displayed.  These fresh, fun and vibrant pieces are the perfect addition to any outfit you might wear!

What inspires you to create the beautiful pieces Moon Rox has?
This is one of the most commonly asked questions to a creative person, but I find it’s also one of the most difficult to answer because I find that I am inspired by so many different things all the time.  I’m inspired by the beautiful and creative women in my life, inspired by colour, inspired by street style, inspired by vintage housewares and fun quirky found objects.  Often I am inspired by the materials first.  I will come up with a design after finding the most amazing finding or the perfect bead or piece of cord.

Who is your target customer?
Over the years my target customer has expanded to women of all ages.  As my designs evolved, I really found the signature style of MoonRox, my target customer has grown to everyone from little girls to women in their 80’s and beyond!  My Grandmother was 97 and still wore my jewels!

What are ways readers can get their hands on your line?
You can find my work online in the following places:
Website
Etsy Shop
Facebook
Twitter
Also there are a bunch of retailers across Canada that carry Moon Rox.

How often do you come out with new jewelry?
As a rule I come up with a new line twice a year — One Spring/Summer and one Fall/Winter collection.  These collections will be shown to retailers.  In between I often come up with some more designs just to keep the creative juices going.  Plus, I always make sure to debut some special pieces at the One of a Kind Show (where we met!) and I take part in that twice a year here in Toronto.

What are your price points?
Prices range from $4 up to $185, with a couple exceptions.  For the most part, the pieces are $65 and under.

Are you a solo artist?
I am a one-woman team!  However, I do get some help with sales when I do retail shows such as the One of a Kind Show.

What you make your jewelry out of?  And what your favourite textile is to use?
The past few seasons, I have favoured vintage brass findings and chain combined with an assortment of beads (glass, crystal, lucite and semi-precious stones) mixed with colourful cord and ribbon.  On occasion, I like to mix in some wool felt or silk and some feathers.  I design and assemble each piece in my downtown Toronto home studio.

When you were young, do you remember an outfit, or accessory that you wore ALL the time as a kid
I had these two textile necklaces that were made of meshed cotton fabric scraps found in the art room at school.  One was red and white and one was blue and white and I wore them solidly from Grade 3-5!  Now I am inspired to make a version for my line this season!


One thought on “Moon Rox

Comments Away! We love hearing feedback: